Energy Department names new Office of Science director

Cherry Murray
Cherry Murray | Courtesy of the Department of Energ
The Department of Energy (DOE) said late last week that Cherry Murray has been named director of the DOE's Office of Science, which shepherds research projects in multiple areas, including environmental and biological sciences, energy, scientific computing and many areas within nuclear science.

As director, Murray will monitor research, as well as facilitate development and construction of user facilities. The DOE said this office manages 10 laboratories within the national system.

“Dr. Murray will be an outstanding director of the Office of Science, drawing upon her experience in academia as professor and dean of one of the country’s leading universities of engineering and applied sciences, key R&D leadership roles in industry, and as former head of science and technology at one of the department’s national laboratories,” Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz said. “I thank the Senate for approving her nomination and look forward to working closely with her as director.”

Prior to this appointment, Murray served as a professor of technology, public policy and physics at Harvard University. She also has served as the university’s dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Murray also has worked in the private sector for Bell Laboratories and Lucent Technologies. Murray earned a doctorate in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Organizations in this story

US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue Southwest Washington, DC - 20585

Get notified the next time we write about US Department of Energy!