African Union concludes nuclear energy commission session

The African Union Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE) concluded its two-day Fifth Ordinary Session on Tuesday, which focused on the implementation of the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty and the role of nuclear technology in the continent’s development.

The session, which was held at African Union (AU) headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, was opened on Monday by AU Peace and Security Commissioner Smaïl Chergui. It was the first session with current AFCONE membership, which was voted on in May 2014 and will remain until 2018.

The commission was established in the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty, also called the Treaty of Pelindaba, which was adopted in 1996 and brought into effect in 2009. It aims to facilitate cooperation in the use of nuclear science and technology while ensuring that member states comply with non-proliferation agreements.

During the recently completed session, the commission focused on how to implement its program of work and how to expatiate the secretariat’s operation. AFCONE also created the opportunity for consultations with the Africa Regional Cooperative Agreement for Research, Development and Training related to Nuclear Science and Technology (AFRA).

Organizations in this Story

African Union

Want to get notified whenever we write about African Union ?
Next time we write about African Union, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.