Southern Company chairman recognized for nuclear development commitment

The National Labor and Management Public Affairs Committee recently named Southern Company Chairman, President and CEO Thomas Fanning and North America's Building Trades Unions President Sean F. McGarvey as 2015 John D. Dingell awardees.

The John D. Dingell Award is presented to industry leaders whose efforts have helped to further the electric power industry and International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers members. Fanning and McGarvey were recognized for their commitment to nuclear development. They received the award Tuesday at a reception in Washington, D.C.

"Leading the way in new nuclear development requires a shared focus on safety and quality as the highest priorities," Fanning said. "This award is a tribute to the thousands of men and women dedicated to ensuring nuclear remains a dominant solution for America's energy future through the construction of Vogtle Units 3 and 4."

Fanning's extensive background in nuclear leadership  includes being a member of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations Board of Directors and the World Association of Nuclear Operators – Atlanta Centre governing board.

Southern Company subsidiary Southern Nuclear currently operates Georgia Power's two existing nuclear power units at Plant Vogtle, as well as Georgia Power's Plant Hatch and subsidiary Alabama Power's Plant Farley. These facilities generate approximately 46,000 megawatts and provide nearly 20 percent of the electricity used in Alabama and Georgia.

Organizations in this Story

Southern Company

Want to get notified whenever we write about Southern Company ?
Next time we write about Southern Company, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.